2012 Indian Country Officer of the Year Award

Each year during the IACP Annual Conference, the IACP Indian Country Law Enforcement Section recognizes the service and valor of officers serving Indian Country. This year we are happy to announce that Chief Janey Blackeye Bryan of the Duckwater Shoshone Police Department has won the Officer of the Year Award.

Joseph LaPorte, Indian Country Section Chairman, 2012 Award Winner Chief Janey Blackeye Bryan, Duckwater Shoshone Tribal Police Department, NV and James Molash, Section’s Officer of the Year Committee Chairman

This award was established in 2002 to recognize an officer or officers serving in Indian Country in the United States, Canada or the Americas, who, through their actions, have in some manner, strengthened the law enforcement profession.  Since 2002 the Section has recognized officers who exemplify the highest standards in exceptional service and/or valor.

Chief Blackeye Bryan has often been noted for her service and dedication to the people of the Duckwater Shoshone Tribe to help lower the incidences of elder abuse, child abuse and exploitation,   drug abuse and domestic violence. Chief Blackeye Bryan is one of only two officers keeping the peace on the Duckwater reservation of over 200 people covering more than 3,800 acres.

Chief Bryan was nominated by US Attorney Daniel Bogden of the District of Nevada for her actions on February 4, 2011 on the Duckwater reservation when responding with her officer to a domestic violence call. Upon entering the house, she assisted her officer who was assaulted by an intoxicated male resisting arrest. Chief Bryan came to the rescue of her officer being strangled when he failed to subdue the perpetrator. Though she had sustained broken ribs and clavicle in the ensuing fight, Chief Bryan continued to protect her officer, the female victim, and subdue the perpetrator, resulting in his arrest.  Chief Bryan’s actions exemplify bravery and strong reliance upon police training bringing honor to the police profession.

For more information, please contact Elaine Deck, decke@theiacp.org.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Awards, Breaking News, Conference General Information, Press Release, Sections. Bookmark the permalink.