2015 August Vollmer Excellence in Forensic Science Award Winners

Each year the IACP Forensic Science Committee recognizes the significant impact forensic science has on the criminal justice system and seeks to acknowledge pioneering efforts in this field. The August Vollmer Excellence in Forensic Science Award was created to honor proactive, innovative uses of forensic technologies by law enforcement.

This year four awards will be presented for ground-breaking use of existing or new forensic technologies and investigative uses of forensic science. The winners of this year’s awards are:

  • Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), Special Testing and Research Laboratory for the category of Current or Past Contribution in Forensic Science
  • Denver Crime Gun Intelligence Center for the category of Current or Past Collaboration in Forensic Science
  • Bensalem Township Police Department (PA) for the category of Significant Investigative Value in a Major Crime
  • Michigan State Police, Forensic Science Division-Biology Unit for the category of Innovation in Forensic Technology by a Forensic Service Provider in the Public Sector

The winners are commended for their dedication and commitment to advancing the investigative and evidentiary uses of forensic services. Awards will be presented to the winners at IACP’s Annual Conference being held October 24th – 27th, 2015 in Chicago, Illinois.

For more information, visit the August Vollmer Excellence in Forensic Science Awards page. For more information about the Forensic Science Committee, please visit http://www.theiacp.org/-Forensic-Science-Committee or contact the Co-Chairs of the Committee: Stephanie Stoiloff, Senior Police Bureau Commander at the Miami-Dade Police Department, sstoiloff@mdpd.com and John Grassel, Detective Lieutenant at the Rhode Island State Police, john.grassel@risp.dps.ri.gov.



This entry was posted in Awards, Committees. Bookmark the permalink.