2015 IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award Winners

Congratulations to this year’s winners and finalists of the IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award! This award recognizes outstanding community policing initiatives worldwide. Four agencies were selected as winners, five agencies were selected as finalists, and one agency was given special recognition for the use of technology in a community policing effort. Winning entries demonstrate the meaningful change that occurs when law enforcement officials and their communities utilize all available resources for crime prevention and improvement of quality of life.

“Cisco is proud to be a part of the IACP Community Policing Awards and all that it represents. The men and women and public safety organizations honored by this award are the embodiment of best in breed in law enforcement,” said Bob Stanberry, Senior Law Enforcement Advisor for Cisco. “I am honored to support these organizations and am in awe of their determination to make our communities and citizens safer.”

This year’s winners are:

  • The Royal Canadian Mounted Police Thompson Detachment, Manitoba, Canada
  • Shakopee, Minnesota, Police Department
  • Dayton, Ohio, Police Department
  • New York City, New York, Police Department

This year’s special recognition for use of technology is:

  • Singapore Police Force

This year’s finalists are:

  • Columbia Heights, Minnesota, Police Department
  • Durham, New Hampshire, Police Department
  • University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, Police Department
  • Arlington, Texas, Police Department
  • Houston, Texas, Police Department

Committee Chairman Ronal Serpas, Professor at Loyola University and former New Orleans Police Superintendent points out, “Recent events have demonstrated that trust between law enforcement and the community it serves is essential. The agencies we are honor…have demonstrated how incorporating the community policing philosophy into their mission has built a stronger agency, and awarded them with strong and lasting relationships with their communities.”

Award winners will be honored at the 122nd IACP Annual Conference and Exposition in Chicago, Illinois, at a special awards reception on Sunday, October 25, 2015.

This entry was posted in Awards, Community-Police Relations. Bookmark the permalink.